Kacz's "Price Check on the Powell" w/ super secret double entry...

Somewhere in the shopping cart is a sweet old Powell waiting for a custom rebuild. Truth be told I am not sure if I can get this done in time - we've got our first baby on the way :smile: so I have tons of prep to do around the house AND I might be out of work by the end of the month (actually I will have plenty of time then but I might have to sell the toys :laugh:)

Anyway, I wanted to toss my hat into the ring and see if I can get this thing done. I have never done a minibike before and this Powell will be my first rebuild, and I know enough to know this one needs to be done right! Even though I am outgunned in the experience department, I have high hopes and big dreams, and a shop full of tools so I'll see where this takes me!

PS There is a super secret CAT frame lurking in the background that kzhorse hooked me up with - who knows what's going to happen there!

PPS Hope that rock can wasn't supposed to be in the follow up pics because him and his friends are long gone :drinkup:

PPPS I guess this would be open class??? Sorry wasn't sure!

Last edited:

Itype2slo

Thats awsome will you be incorporating that shopping cart into the build? just kidding thats a nice pile of parts. Good luck on the baby and the build.

CRAP!

So had nice weather yesterday and today and finally got the powell up on the workbench. First order of business was to see if the old briggs can still turn. Fresh gas and oil and pulled on the crank till my shoulder burned and nothing... :cursing: Oh well I figured it wasn't going to be that easy.

Pulled off the carb and the tank and gave everything a good bath, tank was still a bit rusty but I didn't care because I was planning on an aftermarket carb and just wanted to see if it turned over. Plug and wire also looked like crap so cleaned them up. Put it all back together and first pull and we are in business! :thumbsup: