painting plastic gas tanks??

i recently just finished my nighthawk and did a slack ass job throwing a coat of black spray paint on my nighthawk tank... it started peeling about 1 day after i started riding haha..
what are your guys' experiences with painting plastic?
any processes that have proven to be successful? im thinking about dipping it like they do with motorcycle helmets.. like so

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_CA0DR4GSQg

What type/brand of paint did you use? What I have learned from this forum is that you MUST uses a paint that is specially formulated to bond to plastic. Even with doing that, I wonder if there is a plastic paint that is gas resistant?
Michael

It is quite possible to paint plastic with acrylic or urethanes. Paint over primer and it binds fine, as long as the prep work is up to snuff.

The problem with "gas tanks" however is that the plastic "supposedly" breathes and permeates the tank from inside. So it attacks any non catalyzed primer. The cure for that is a well and correct application of Caswells- the clear stuff, or the dragon blood.

Rattle can has no business on a gas tank of any material, unless you clear with two part urethane. Hydro is the same deal. Needs a clear coat. Not the stuff from the hardware store.

MB165

i dont think your going to have any luck painting a plastic gas tank. they will bubble up if you put gas in them....i did one and it looked good for a few months. it cleans off easy enough though.

the only way to paint plastic is to scrub it real good with scotchbrite and use adhesion promoter and still you will get the gas permeating whatnot but ive had it last a lot longer than people say it does with lots of clear

It is quite possible to paint plastic with acrylic or urethanes. Paint over primer and it binds fine, as long as the prep work is up to snuff.