comet 30 series eating belts for dinner

ok I have a manco go kart with predator engine with a header, air filter, and .035" main jet and it eats belts. I don't think the engine is too powerful however I might be wrong but I want to know why it tears through belts. I just put a brand new kevlar belt on it and aligned the clutches. the drive clutch is new the driven clutch has a new spring and it was sand blasted but it still eats through belts in about 5hrs my belt is worn out. I can't use a centrifugal clutch because of all the hills around my house so anything to fix this problem will be greatly appreciated.

I'm no expert but did you replace a smaller engine with your predator? Is your gearing made for the predator and the hp it is putting out. Do you need a tav on it or can it be direct? I wonder if you increased your hp to where you are slipping your belt. Thus burning them up.

I replaced a 196cc (I think) briggs and stratton fun power it was 5hp. I have not changed the gearing though I have the comet 30 series with a 9 tooth drive sprocket and a 60 on the axle. I don't know if that gearing is the reason for shredding belts because it's the stock gearing from the factory.

i have gone through 3 in under a year with a 13hp so don't think that's it either. i ride it pretty hard when i ride solo. i adjusted my driver for a faster engagement but had no change on belt life.

Is it a PIX brand belt you are using?

Pix makes bad belts they wear very quickly.

Failing that something is not adjusted correctly.
Could be a a slight mis alignmment .

Or it could be slipping because your secodnary clutch needs more tension.

I know the belts are aligned but I'm not sure about the brand and Im also not sure if my driven unit doesn't have enough tension but how would I check the tension?

the belt is a PIX a symmetrical kevlar belt I hope that is the complete problem but who make a strong belt that will last for the comet 30 series
There you have it.