Comet TC questions?

This is my first TC I have ever seen or worked with so I am still learning here. The pieces all look to be in prety good condition to me. The springs have been in a round position for almost 30 years so they have kinda took that shape. Do I "REALLY" need to replace them? I am trying to not take out a second morgage to finish this project. I still have alot of parts I know for sure I am going to have to buy but I do want it to be done right. I think this is a CAT99 but I am not 100% sure. I do know it was made in or before 1986.

This is the belt that came with the TC. The guy said he had been running it for the last 6 months before he took the motor off to rebuild it so I know the belt was working. May not be the correct belt but it must be close.

I tried to measure and get a good picture of everything.

From looking at pictures of new ones online, the weight doesn't look to be wore much to me but I will let the professionals decide.

I went here to ID it - How To Identify Comet Torque Converters and it said if it was 5/8" then it was a CAT99 but I got more like 1/2" on the opening and the center shaft. When I put the belt on it with it closed, the top of the 5/8" belt is definitely wider than the opening. I seen on that site where it said there were washers used on some 5/8" ones to make them 3/4". I didn't know if I needed to add washers to make sure it was 5/8" or leave it alone. It doesn't look like anything is wore down to make it that way - it looks like it has always been 1/2"ish. I also didn't want to change the size of the drive and throw the driver off too.

You can see here that 5/8" is wider than the opening when fully closed.

Here is the space / void I asked about in my first post.

I found some drivers that came with what they call a pilot washer so I was curious if mine was missing this.

Driver 3/4" bore,Max-Torque