Help!! carb problems

coxbm

Hello im ne to the forum but i figured maybe there someone out here that could help me. I have a 212 predator that has been working quite well for the past few weeks. but recently i put a new header and air filter on it. After re-jetting the carb it wouldnt start. After taking it up to my uncles shop (small engine repair) and cleaning the carb we got it to start and have a rough idle but when u hit the throttle it just dies...... What could this be? gaskets? dirt in carb? Just a bad carb?

gbabins1

Welcome, I'm by no means a carb expert... but it wouldn't start after you rejetted it then you cleaned the carb and it started but idles rough... too much fuel or an air leak I'm thinking. What size jets did you use? Or did you drill out the stock one yourself?

I'm sure someone with more carb knowledge will chime in soon

The pilot jet did not need to be fooled with , thats one issue . Second is .81mm ( if thats correct ) is only a #32 jet ( #67 bit ) , thats not enough fuel , you have to go to a #62 bit which gives you a #38 jet , some people say go to a #60 drill or #40 jet ? Did you drill it carefully by hand w/pin vise ? I just finished exact mods , header and intake and #38 re-jet and it couldn't possibly run any better ! I'm no expert but searching this site for months has made me one , Lol :thumbsup:

Too small of a main jet will not cause it not to start or idle, .02 of idle jet,is still small, but should do fine. Did you check all carb gaskets, did you check your needle and float?
Make sure the small oring on the pilot jet did not fall off and is seated properly.
Is the etube in right and main jet seated properly?

Is it getting fuel? How is the spark plug clean?