HS40 with lights wont start....

SooOOOoo... I got a 1970 Rupp Roadster with a HS40 and lighting coil. Replaced carb (Oregon brand), new plug set @ .30, new points (set @ .20) new coil, new condenser. Got spark (shocked me good when pulling and holding spark plug wire end. :laugh:), compression seems good at exhaust pipe (hand over end of exhaust), gas is going to carb, timing should be ok (no sheared key at flywheel)

i'm a pretty decent mechanic, work on cars, trucks, boats, heavy equipment, etc.

This HS40's got me baffled. All the lights including the brake light work when I pull the cord fast enough, so I don't think its some kind of grounding issue. even cleaned and replaced the ground plug/bolt on front of the engine.

Anyone here got any other ideas? I'd really like to take this thing for a spin (obviously)

Thanks in advance!

markus

will it at least spit, pop, or sputter?

did you remove the magneto assy when you changed the coil out, if so did it go back into the same exact spot that it was in before. Does it actually have visible fat spark at the plug or did you just see if it would shock you. is there adequate clearance that nothing is touching or very close to the plug wire end/plug- those bikes can have close quarters depending on what plug you use.

Have you tried it with the harness unpluggged from the engine?

Harleys Papa: Not 100% sure if plug is getting wet haven't pulled it to look, the last time I did it was dry, but have since then put a bit of gas down there, reinstalled plug, pull cord... nothing, not even a cough. I try it again now and see if its wet..