I think my block is cracked

First, Hi my names Keith. June 13 is my b-day, and I'll be... older. I'm new to oldminibikes.com forum and this is my first build, a new predator 212. I was cleaning out the crankcase when I saw this, and it bothers me. Should I take this back to Harbor Freight? I think it might have happened when they put it together. No visible damage on the outside, but would you feel comfortable running this engine? Seriously, I don't know what to do and I could use some good advice. Anything you have to say would help me out. Thanks

Last edited:

MikeBear

I'd return it. Look up the term "grenade"...

You ain't really lived until you've had an engine blow up while straddling it, and survived with your balls intact.

I don't however recommend the experience, so another engine is in order for you.

"I'd return it. Look up the term "grenade"..."

Yea, well, uh I've already tore it apart. I took out the governor wheel and arm, then plugged the holes. I took the low oil sensor out completely, also cut and threw out the wires then drilled/tapped that hole for a plug.

Last edited:
looks like casting marks...I've seen them on other engines....if you feel better about it take it back..
That's why I'm asking for advice, I thought it might be "normal" for this type of engine. Did I say I'm new to this? This is my first build and I'm just doing it as a hobby, then I'll sell and do it again. It's a "project build", a backyard bomber that some kid will buy with his first few paychecks. I want it to be safe but if enough members think the same way, I might just keep it.

MikeBear

"I'd return it. Look up the term "grenade"..."

Yea, well, uh I've already tore it apart. I took out the governor wheel and arm, then plugged the holes. I took the low oil sensor out completely, also cut and threw out the wires then drilled/tapped that hole for a plug.