Predator 212 bogging/running rich

six40

Hello,

I am pretty new to small engines and carburetors in general, so I need a little bit of help. I have a 212cc engine I got used. It was fully stock when I got it, and it's still stock with the exception of a free flowing exhaust. The problem with it is, it keeps fouling plugs.

I grinded the tip of the plug down to a point and re-gapped it to .035, the gap was less than .025 which I thought was too tight. The air filter is clean, but to make sure that's not a problem I had it running without the filter and it still did the same thing.

Now to explain the problem, the engine will idle forever without a problem. I let it idle for about 15 minutes without a hiccup. The engine will also run at full throttle forever, without a hiccup. The problem comes when I try and rev the engine up from idle. If I roll on the throttle ever so gently, it will rev up no problem and it is smooth. But if I am aggressive with the throttle it will backfire really loud and sometimes even shoot a huge flame, sometimes it will clear out and rev up but the more times I do it the more the plug fouls, and eventually it just stalls out when I give it throttle. After, it won't start unless I pull the plug and clean it.

What would cause this issue? As stated before, the engine is all stock except for the exhaust.

six40

Here is a pic of the plug before I did anything to it. Also looking at it more today I realized it's just a clone 196cc engine, not a 212cc predator so I apologize

six40

Yep the plug is clean, I clean it every time it gets like that.

I took the carb apart and cleaned it as much as I could. Also cleaned the inside of the tank, the filters, etc and fully drained the old gas. There was a lot of debris in the tank, and some in the bowl. I was not able to get the jet out, the PO destroyed the jet trying to get it out and I had no luck either, it was stripped all the way around.