pull choke carbs-5hp

markus

is there any good threads or sites showing any info on these, getting the maximum out of them type stuff? I want to retain the pull choke carb and flat tank to keep the period correct look to go along with the bike. what did they do to them back in the 70's :shrug:

thanks

CarPlayLB

Markus,
I have zero experience with modding a pull choke carb, but have wondered about the very same thing!
Seems to me that the main restriction in the carb is the pull choke itself! The support piece that goes across the inlet would need to be thinned down. I bet the old timers pulled the whole choke assembly out, plugged the back, and ported the inlet! Living in a warmer climate here in SoCal, I typically just remove the choke on the later carbs and pressurize the tank before I try to start it. A shot of ether in the filter often lights it off, but that is not normally necessary.
What mods are being done to the engine? No governor? What RPM range will it run? The old pull choke workhorse was able to support 5HP at 3600RPM!

strickly from a performance point of view , my friends who race carts say that the carbs with the thumb lever on the side are the best ones to run either stock or modded and that the pull choke types are the worst

joshua. c.