Briggs 2.5 Motor Help?

Hello,

I have a Briggs 2.5 hp motor from a Sears bike (70's ish). It did run untile I tried to adjust the carb, because it wasn't putting out much power. I have worked my fingers to the bone trying to restart it and it just wont fire. Its come close, but no joy. It has fuel, its throwing a spark. I have tried to reset the carb to its orginal settings. Any one know what else I might try? also, in the event that I do get it restarted are there any easy fixes to get it running better, little adjustments ect. The Model numbers are:

61102 940536 5908310

as I have stated before, I am new to this, and a computer tech. not very good with engines. My kids are really ready for me to get this thing running again. Thanks for any help.

Oldsalt

There is a screen at the end of the tube, the little one that dips down into the gas tank, that can get pluged. If it's got good spark then it's probably a fuel problem, however it can be someting like a bad spark plug. Drop the tank, pull the carb and maks sure the diaphram in the side of the carb is still good and clean the screen [also there is usually a 'check ball' in that tube above the screen] useing carb or brake cleaner. Also change the plug.