MiniBike Newbie - advice on first time build plans

Hi all - Congratulations on a great site you have here - I've just joined as a member and am really looking forward to contributing in some small way.......

Some advice for a newbie if you will please....

Im looking for advice on plans to use for a first time build - I'm new to MiniBikes and need to start somewhere.... could I have your recommendations of where to start please...

I'll need some plans ...... so which would you recommend bearing in mind my experience levels (see below), also which plans/builds are easier than the rest to get me started, and which plans/builds should I just avoid?

I really am basically a newbie with MiniBikes, but I am quite experienced in a "home-garage" kind of way - I have also had a serious mechanical interest over the proceeding years with old Lambretta and Vespa scooters and the more modern twist-and-go scooters. I would say my home-taught skills are quite good mechanically. I also have access to a mig-welder but I really am a novice with welding but am not afraid to learn.

So thanks in advance...
Fabio

[EDIT] edited to say that I'm in the UK (England)

Last edited:

oldsledz

I can not help with plans, but I think more info is needed before anyone will be able to help you. Will the bike before an child or adult? Where will it be used the most . roads, rough trails , will there be hills?

Welcome , starting with a scratch built frame is one way to dive in head first , lol !
The problem I have in the UK is the lack of availability of suppliers/manufacturers/frames - so it seemed starting from scratch was the most sensible way to go...

I can not help with plans, but I think more info is needed before anyone will be able to help you. Will the bike before an child or adult? Where will it be used the most . roads, rough trails , will there be hills?
Adult....on tarmac....some hills but not too many..... and not too steep...