New guy with a Dunecycle, Tecumseh 8hp

Hey there. I've got a Dunecycle with an 8hp Tecumseh engine, from what I've researched so far.
It's been sitting for who know how long but after some simple checks and and external fuel supply it started up pretty well.

It appears to have a Mikuni vm22, governor removed, and maybe an aftermarket exhaust.

To make it rideable it's missing:
- Clutch (ordered a series 20)
- Belt (ordered a series 20 at 2 different lengths)
- Fuel pump (ordered a cheap from Amazon)
- a new rear tire (searching for something cheap at 21X12-8)
- a new right brake cable or just the top barrel
- band brake cable pins (ordered)
- I flushed out the tank with degreaser and vinegar, tank and petcock now working

Let me know if there is any advice with this set up, and how I can expect this to perform!!
Will post pics soon.

Very nice. I'm no expert, but without a governor, those big block Tecs don't like too many rpms. It looks like a great project and that combo should move it pretty well.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It is a Dunecycle 800B.
The exhaust was a aftermarket accessary from Dunecycle. Was not stock with the Mikuni. but the carb does work well. Should have a rebuild able, rectangular Mikuni diaphragm pump.
Wire you are showing is the kill wire.

It is a Dunecycle 800B.
The exhaust was a aftermarket accessary from Dunecycle. Was not stock with the Mikuni. but the carb does work well. Should have a rebuild able, rectangular Mikuni diaphragm pump.
Wire you are showing is the kill wire.
Very cool! Any advice for governing the revs?
I am planning on racing this in a trike event in July.

How fast do you think I can expect this thing to go?

Cuda54

You might need a voltage rectifier to. Is it a electric start? You might need to change it back to the right carb so it does not blow up. And get the governor working to.

Last edited:
All the 8hp came with the lighting coil already on them. the lights were a add on.